Tuesday, May 6, 2014

UMN and ACS to honor legacy of Professor Izaak M. Kolthoff - 12/13 Sep 2014 - Save the Date

Join us as we honor the legacy of legendary chemistry Professor Izaak M. Kolthoff

University of Minnesota Professor Izaak M. Kolthoff's (1894-1993) work in establishing the field of analytical chemistry as a scientific discipline has received the prestigious honor of being named a 2014 American Chemical Society National Historic Chemical Landmark. This news coincides with a celebration of the centennial of Smith Hall, the classic chemistry building on the University's Northrop Mall named after Lee Irvin Smith, a professor and administrator in the Department of Chemistry from 1920-1960. Mark your calendar now to celebrate with us!

Public Ceremony
Landmark Designation and Smith Hall Centennial

Friday, Sept. 12, 2014
4 p.m.

Smith Hall, University of Minnesota
207 Pleasant St. SE, Minneapolis
The ceremony includes a plaque unveiling and public dedication in Kolthoff's honor. Speakers will represent the University of Minnesota and the American Chemical Society. The event also includes tours and a reception.

Research Symposium 
Honoring Kolthoff's Scientific Legacy

Saturday, Sept. 13, 2014
8:30 a.m.-12:30 p.m.

Smith Hall, University of Minnesota
207 Pleasant St. SE, Minneapolis
The symposium will feature National Academy of Sciences members:
  • Professor Allen Bard, University of Texas at Austin
  • Professor Harry Gray, California Institute of Technology
  • Professor Laura Kiessling, University of Wisconsin-Madison
  • Professor Judith Klinman, University of California, Berkeley
  • Professor Richard Zare, Stanford University
Event sponsors include:
  • University of Minnesota Department of Chemistry
  • University of Minnesota College of Science and Engineering
  • Minnesota Section of the American Chemical Society
For more information, visit the event web page or send an email tochemnhld@umn.edu. More information and registration details will be available in June.

William B. Tolman
Distinguished McKnight University Professor and Chair
Department of Chemistry
College of Science and Engineering
University of Minnesota

No comments: