Thursday, May 29, 2014

NSF Scholarship to attend Green Chemistry & Engineering Conference

Green Chemistry & Engineering

Apply Now for the 2014 NSF Student Scholarships!
The ACS Green Chemistry Institute®, through a generous grant from the National Science Foundation (NSF), is making available scholarship opportunities for students to attend the 18th Annual Green Chemistry & Engineering Conference (GC&E) in North Bethesda, Maryland, June 17-19, 2014 and the GC&E Student Workshop on Monday, June 16, 2014 in Washington, DC.
The NSF Scholars program will reimburse students for travel, accommodations, and registrations fee, up to a maximum of $1000. Eligibility includes undergraduate, graduate or postdoctoral students registered in an accredited U.S. college or university. Limited scholarships are available so apply now!
Take advantage of this opportunity to enhance your understanding of sustainable and green chemistry and engineering!

The GC&E Student Workshop – Monday, June 16, 2014  Located at the American Chemical Society headquarters in Washington DC, this hands on workshop will help students understand how to evaluate the impact of chemicals and syntheses and choose greener options for their own research or labs. The workshop will be led by Dr. Marty Mulvihill (University of California - Berkeley) along with Dr. Marie Bourgeois (Professor, University of South Florida), Dr. Douglas Raynie (Professor, South Dakota State University), and Dr. David Constable (ACS GCI).
The 18th Annual Green Chemistry & Engineering Conference – June 17-19, 2014  Students will learn about the innovations and applications of green chemistry and engineering that are contributing towards designing a more sustainable world. The conference program includes over 30 technical sessions, daily keynotes, a careers workshop, a student poster competition, and opportunity to network at the opening night reception. 
We hope to see you there!
The ACS Green Chemistry Institute® Team

Wednesday, May 7, 2014

MPCA Summer Student Worker for Green Chemistry Projects

The Minnesota Pollution Control Agency is seeking a student worker to support green chemistry projects this summer and possibly into the fall depending on scheduling and funding.

The job posting and application procedure is available at

You must have a resume on file at the My State Job Search site before you can apply.

Applications will be accepted through May 14, 2014.

Tuesday, May 6, 2014

UMN and ACS to honor legacy of Professor Izaak M. Kolthoff - 12/13 Sep 2014 - Save the Date

Join us as we honor the legacy of legendary chemistry Professor Izaak M. Kolthoff

University of Minnesota Professor Izaak M. Kolthoff's (1894-1993) work in establishing the field of analytical chemistry as a scientific discipline has received the prestigious honor of being named a 2014 American Chemical Society National Historic Chemical Landmark. This news coincides with a celebration of the centennial of Smith Hall, the classic chemistry building on the University's Northrop Mall named after Lee Irvin Smith, a professor and administrator in the Department of Chemistry from 1920-1960. Mark your calendar now to celebrate with us!

Public Ceremony
Landmark Designation and Smith Hall Centennial

Friday, Sept. 12, 2014
4 p.m.

Smith Hall, University of Minnesota
207 Pleasant St. SE, Minneapolis
The ceremony includes a plaque unveiling and public dedication in Kolthoff's honor. Speakers will represent the University of Minnesota and the American Chemical Society. The event also includes tours and a reception.

Research Symposium 
Honoring Kolthoff's Scientific Legacy

Saturday, Sept. 13, 2014
8:30 a.m.-12:30 p.m.

Smith Hall, University of Minnesota
207 Pleasant St. SE, Minneapolis
The symposium will feature National Academy of Sciences members:
  • Professor Allen Bard, University of Texas at Austin
  • Professor Harry Gray, California Institute of Technology
  • Professor Laura Kiessling, University of Wisconsin-Madison
  • Professor Judith Klinman, University of California, Berkeley
  • Professor Richard Zare, Stanford University
Event sponsors include:
  • University of Minnesota Department of Chemistry
  • University of Minnesota College of Science and Engineering
  • Minnesota Section of the American Chemical Society
For more information, visit the event web page or send an email More information and registration details will be available in June.

William B. Tolman
Distinguished McKnight University Professor and Chair
Department of Chemistry
College of Science and Engineering
University of Minnesota